Warren > Almond Principal's Corner > Posts > National Merit Students Recognized

 Image Viewer

February 10
National Merit Students Recognized

On Tuesday, February 7, the Board of Education recognized the National Merit Recognized students.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition which began in 1955 for recognition and scholarships. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying test. These scholarships are considered to be an important and prestigious award. Even students who qualify and don’t win can earn honor and recognition and are able to use that to their benefit when it comes to applying to college. National Merit Scholars are heavily recruited by universities and some are given preferential treatment in admissions, housing, and course selection. Many selective universities seek to increase their number of National Merit Scholars. They may also receive attractive merit scholarships.

In February, some 15,000 Semifinalists are notified by mail at their home addresses that they have advanced to Finalist standing. High school principals are notified and provided with a certificate to present to each Finalis.  Warren just receive notice and is proud to recognize the five students who advanced:  Olivia Y. Chen, David H. Kang, Peter J. Kircher, Ryan D. Klemz, and Ruchira Ray.

Approximately 1.4 million students took the test last October, and the National Merit Semi-finalists achieved this recognition by scoring in the top 1% in the nation. Warren is proud to recognize five students who achieved this honor and later advanced to finalists: Olivia Y. Chen, David H. Kang, Peter J. Kircher, Ryan D. Klemz and Ruchira Ray-who all advanced to finalists.

 Students who scored in the top 2% in the nation are recognized as Commended Students in the National Merit Program. These students do not continue in the scholarship competition, but are recognized because of their outstanding academic promise. Warren recognizes 16 outstanding students this year: Arjun S. Arun,  Alexander J. Bardi, Matteson H. Duncan, Samantha C. Gunter, Andrew M. Jacobs, Anusha Jalasutram, Kinsey L. Jasnoch, Eric U. Jung, Sidhartha Kumar, Thomas Macheras, Brett A. McCollum, Natalie L. McNally, Nathaniel J. Metz, Andrew C. Miller, Julian G. Ruiz, and Kenneth M. Zimmers.

Approximately 420 independent organizations and institutions sponsor more than two-thirds of the National Merit Scholarships offered each year. All Special Scholarships are sponsored by business organizations that also support Merit Scholarship awards. ADP, Inc. is a Corporate Scholarship Sponsor. This year Warren is fortunate to have one student who received this honor: Alexandra Berkowicz.


There are no comments for this post.